top of page

Oculus Quest 2

Recently I have gotten my hands on an Oculus Quest 2 virtual reality headset. While I don’t own a lot of games yet, I’ve already had tons of fun and very memorable experiences with the headset and would definitely recommend it to someone who is trying to get into VR. However, there are a few things that need to be known before getting into VR which I will discuss.


The most obvious thing is making sure you have enough space. I myself have already failed this one, and not in the way I thought I would. With a VR headset on, you will not be able to see the real world at all. While it is very important to make sure you have enough space and there is nothing on the floor that you will trip on, you should also be cautious of things in the air. On one of my first days experimenting with the headset, I was playing a game that involved punching in different directions. As I was punching, there just so happened to be a ceiling fan a few feet above my head. I am unsure if I am just too weak to break the glass surrounding the bulb or if I just wasn’t punching full force but I am definitely glad it did not break when I punched it. My hand is still a little bit bruised, but I would definitely rate it a 1/10 would not suggest punching ceiling fans.


Gameplay-wise I can’t even begin to cover everything. So far one of my favorite games has been Beat Saber, a game about hitting cubes in sync with songs. There are several different songs and you can even find some levels created by other users! The songs also have different difficulty levels for those who want a challenge or for those who just want to have some casual fun! Another of my favorite games for the Quest is called Journey of the Gods. In Journey of the Gods, you play as “the chosen one”, someone who is able to inherit the feathers of the bird gods gaining their special abilities to use in what in known as god mode, in god mode you grow to become a massive being but your movement is limited as you cannot move and you need open area. In your regular form, you are equipped with a sword and shield but can switch over to a crossbow. Journey of the Gods is also a 360 degrees game which means that when you turn your head it also turns your head inside of the game!



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page